Communication Complication

Ok so, I arrived in Konstanz just a few days ago.
So far so good.
I was welcomed by familiar faces, brought to my university, and amazingly the secondary bag I had left at the start of my trip, still remained behind a door in a random office in the uni. I literaly walked into the office, asked the guy about the bag whom seemed to have no idea. I then proceeded to look on the otherside of the door, and there it was sitting there, two months later, exactly as I had left it. So far so good.
Next I arrived at my flat. A little away from the uni, but I soon found out that Europhaus, was the ‘party’ house of the town, and I had my own room. So far so good.
That night, I met a bunch of exchange students, all of whom were extremely nice, we chatted, we drank into the night, things were getting good!
The following night I enjoyed two dinners by two different homes who welcomed me in and I made even more friends. So far so good… Then came Friday, the course began.
My relaxation had finally ended as I arrived at my first day of my language course to be confronted with a test in which I knew not one answer. Not only that, I had been already placed in a higher class in which I was required to perform a speaking task with a German teacher to see my competency in German. “Ich spreche German nicht” I whole hartedly replied. Suddenly it turned on me that I was in Germany, and learning the language was not going to be an easy thing.
In the end though, things don’t seem to bad, I was told that quite a few people have no understanding of German and that we are all going to be in the begginer class, A0. But I mean that’s why I’m here to learn, and I aint alone, so it should be fine.
Still a long while to go, but for now things are not as breezy as they have been for the past 2 months travelling. It’s time to hit the books, turn on my brain, and learn this shit! But first, pub crawl tonight :p

Tschüß!

Posted on September 3, 2010, in Learning Languages, Personal, Travel Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Beelily's Weblog

Adventures by Bike, Boat and Steel

Incurably Stir Crazy

because life is too short to sit still

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

chris martin

A collection of published work by Chris Martin, freelance writer

Heartland Europe

Travel News and more about Central Europe

F. H. Hakansson

F. H. Hakansson - Writer

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

